Karen Swim

Writer, Marketer, Woman of Purpose

How to be Bold in Business

1st Samuel 17:37
Image by ramoo76 via Flickr

I woke up this morning thinking of the often told story of David and Goliath. I felt energized and ready to slay the “giants” in my own life. Goliath was a giant. He towered over his enemies at nine feet tall and wore armor made of bronze. I can imagine that as he stood and challenged the Israelites that his voice boomed out across the land. By comparison the Israelites surely resembled a scrappy band of would be warriors.

I have often read this story with thoughts of the personal challenges in my life but today I am struck by the business application. There are times that I feel like a scrappy little underdog who doesn’t stand a chance against those who tower above me in professional stature. Can you relate?

David, was far from a giant, yet he never once questioned his place on the battlefield. He got excited about the rewards that would be given and confirmed three times what the victor would received. He volunteered to take down the giant because God had been faithful in the past, and David believed that God was with him. He said, “The Lord who delivered me from the paw of the lion and paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine.” (I Samuel 17:37)

He may have been a lowly shepherd boy but with God on his side he had past successes and he had not doubt that God did not care if it were a lion or a giant, it could be slain.

I admit to having my moments of doubt. When faced with bigger opportunities, or new challenges I wonder if I’m up to the challenge. Today, I am reminded that I don’t need to fear the giants and their fancy armor, for God has already shown me that He is with me. While I may fear a new “challenger” God does not. Today, I stand like David knowing that He who delivered me in the past can surely deliver me today.

So, I pick up my smooth stones and stand firmly knowing that I can boldly take my place and claim my reward!

What about you?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
April 19, 2010 - Posted by | Personal Essay | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Karen,

    What a wonderful reminder that God cares about every aspect of our lives, including business.

    Comment by Lillie Ammann | April 20, 2010 | Reply

  2. Karen, this is a great post and new insight to a very familiar Bible story! God wants us to setup of a memorial of ALL the awesome successes He has done through us and for us! He is calling “marketplace” Christians to bring the “giants” of the corporate world to an end of their wicked ways, so His righteous “business” sons/daughters can take over for His glory, honor, and praise!

    Comment by Yvonne | April 21, 2010 | Reply

  3. Lillie, I am so thankful for His grace and mercy in every area of my life!

    Yvonne, Amen! I am dancing and shouting with you for I can “hear” the passion of that call, walking in purpose taking our place on the battlefield. He is so good!

    Comment by karenswim | April 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

