Karen Swim

Writer, Marketer, Woman of Purpose

Dappled Leaves of Joy

Chlorophyll gives leaves their green color and...
Image via Wikipedia
“You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”–Psalm 16:11

This morning I woke up to sunlight streaming through the windows. I had slept with the windows open and there was a gentle breeze that set the tone for a peaceful day. I laid for a moment enjoying the sound of the fountain outside and the pattern the sunlight made on the vibrant green leaves of the tree as the branches gently swayed in the morning breeze. I arose from the bed giving thanks and spent some time just looking through the window enjoying the serenity. It was not the first sunny morning I had seen , it was not even the first this week but  today I did not want to take for granted the beauty that had been served up to mankind. I was so thankful for peace – inside and outside. I recognized the incredible gift of being able to fully enjoy the small moment of a morning filled with sunshine. How many others had awakened this day to challenge or grief? How many were fighting to grasp peace in the midst of chaos thrust upon them by life. Having just come through a long season where my life resembled the valley of dry bones (Ezekiel 37:1-2), I understood that not all days are this easy. So it is with a grateful heart that I truly give thanks for the respite from the storms of life, for relaxing by the still waters, for the sunlight that streams through my window and for the ability to say it is well with my soul, it is well.

Enhanced by Zemanta
August 28, 2010 - Posted by | Personal Essay | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Without saying anything, you’ve managed to say everything, and quite eloquently. You pretty much captured what I felt this morning, as I cut and cleared branches of leaves from the roof of our home. Today is a good day for writing.

    Keep Smiling

    Comment by NoNetTennis | August 28, 2010 | Reply

    • So glad that you had a joyful day too. It really was a good day for writing and writing inspiration. Still smiling and hope you are too 🙂

      Comment by karenswim | August 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

